top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex G. Zarate

Library List: What to read next?

Updated: Feb 27, 2020

I always try to have a list of books to read for the year. Some years I read everything on the list and others, I feel like a kid in a candy store, intent on enjoying the treats at hand... until I walk down the aisles, straining to keep from looking around at every shimmering cover that sparkles like magic, calling to me with promises of adventure...



Besides writing, reading is my favorite thing. Instead of seeking out my own internal worlds and adventures, I get to enjoy those created by others.

What do I feel is the best thing about writing?

“The best thing is sitting down at the keyboard, opening that inner door to incredible worlds, lives and adventures, and walking in.”

I've begun the year with a proposed list of books to read. The plan is to read at least one a month. Some months I succeed and others I get distracted by shiny things (other books) that I hadn't noticed. Before I know it, they are taking me away from my set path and carrying me towards unknown horizons and unplanned adventures.

Books I've Finished Since January

Currently, I have finished three books.

1. Starsight by Bradon Sanderson. This is the continuation of Skyward, which I loved. The characters, futuristic settings and struggles of the hero made it a ride worth taking and sharing. Book two continues the tale with more revelations, new favorite aliens and a cliff-hanger that makes me hate to have read book two while also eagerly anticipating the next (final?) installment.

2. In the Heart of the Fire by Dean Koontz. I discovered this book by accident. As I started reading the book for February, this gem popped up while I was browsing my list. I sighed when I saw it and wanted to look away. I have other Koontz books on my list but was not planning to begin another. I gave it a quick glance then was pulled in like only Koontz can do. (Ah, Dean, you rascal, you...)

3. The Phobos Resurrection by Norton D. McClure. I was introduced to this book via Instagram. As is always the case, life kept dragging me away from both my writing and reading so I could not finish it in a timely manner. (Egads!) This scifi tale is a great indie read with everything a fan of science fiction loves. Quirky characters, artificial life forms and a story that keeps getting better with each turn of the page.

Books I'm Reading in February

I only had one book listed for February but thanks to Mr. Koontz, I now have two with a list of others to toss in for the year.

1. Fall of Hades by Richard Paul Evans. This is the sixth book in the Michael Vey series and every chapter adds to the suspense of what must be coming. The group of youths who call themselves the Electro-Clan are still discovering new things about their abilities yet also fighting with their own inner doubts, fears and relationships as a final showdown draws near. I dread what may happen by the last page. I can't wait to see how the series will conclude.

2. Devoted by Dean Koontz. This is another one of the surprises Koontz dropped into my lap when I wasn't looking. The first book was a joy to read and now I intend to sneak in one or more each month until I get through all seven of these short novels. A master story-teller who knows how to make you want more with each installment. Well, done, Mr. Koontz. Well done.

Books to Read for 2020

My list was supposed to be only 12 books long but, as with most years, I expect the final list will surprise me.


1. Starsight by Brandon Sanderson (Done!)

2. Fall of Hades by Richard Paul Evans (Almost done)

3. Paloma by Kristine Kathryn Rusch. (Book 5 of the Retrieval Artist series)

4. Diving into the Wreck by Kristine Kathryn Rusch.

5. Death Without Company by Craig Johnson

6. #1 in Customer Service The Complete Adventures of Tom Stranger by Larry Correia

7. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. (I always try to read a classic or two each year.)

8. Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia

9. The Forbidden Door by Dean Koontz. (I just can't keep away from this guy!)

10. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie. (Another classic to consume)

11. The Hobbit, or There and Back Again by J.R.R. Tolkien (Audio version. Can't wait!)

12. The Night Window by Dean Koontz. (Jane Hawk book 5. Gotta see how it ends!)


I look forward to reading each book on my list (among others) and am happy to add more as time permits. Feel free to make recommendations or check out any I have listed. If you read one of mine, let me know what you thought. I'm always happy to find new readers.


Until then, I'll see you in the stacks, checking out more books than we can possibly read because we know, between every cover is another world to explore. Onwards!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page