top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex G. Zarate

My Photography Passion

Updated: Mar 18, 2021

For podcast click HERE:

Key to a new world and freedom from four walls

I have been a creative for most of my life, leaning towards artwork and the written word from the very beginning. I was inspired by the books I read, the artwork I found and the sights I discovered in every museum, gallery and exhibition. At the time, I thought such displays were everywhere and readily available to the world.

It wasn’t until I was actively using computers that I realized pictures I liked to see were unavailable for personal use. I only wanted to put up a screen background to see while working but every time I found a good image, it was watermarked or blocked from copying. I was living in California at the time and had a Cybershot DSC-S85 digital camera. It was four megapixels and the images were decent. The iPhone was still years away and cameras with film was still the norm. I decided to go out and take a few pictures of the world so I could have a good background while working throughout the day in my cubicle.

The first place I started taking pictures was at the beach. I took pictures of people, sand, sunsets and squirrels. Seagulls were always around but squirrels were more fun to capture in pictures. People were okay but as we all know, magazines make the world seem glamourous. In real life, people are trying to unwind, rest and relax. After a while, I realized I enjoyed taking pictures of nature, landscapes and the world from a distance. People would sometimes become part of my captures but I preferred the mountains, skies and nature.

In a few short months, I amassed a large amount of pictures. The beach turned into a great place for sunsets and sky images. Before long, I started taking my camera with me on hikes, looking for views that stood out to me. In the years that followed, I took thousands of pictures, went through several cameras and discovered a new passion to follow.

I always loved reading stories. Growing up I came up with many story ideas of my own. Some would eventually lead to my published books. As I grew to love photography, I found every perspective became a story I wanted to share. A hawk flying overhead was an incredible sight as he peered out to the world, gliding across the sky with a majestic presence I felt compelled to capture. Every colorful sunset was a thrill, as if I were witnessing one epic moment after another until the sun was down. I found myself eager to capture images of hummingbirds, rabbits, squirrels and lizards as I walked trails and explored the world like a child discovering wonders at every turn.

Today I alternate between my iPhone and Nikon camera with a zoom lens. Each is a tool I use for capturing the best images I find. I’ve published several books, sculpted artwork and created drawings that I am proud to have made. However, I will always find joy in venturing into the world outside, taking pictures of the sights we see every day, looking for a new perspective, share some positive words and hopefully, encourage others to find the spark of inspiration within themselves.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page