top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex G. Zarate

My Audible Subscription

Audiobook Subscription To Date

Over the years, books have gone from print to digital media. With time becoming a valued commodity, sitting down to read a book is getting harder to do. Listening to an audio reading of a book is common. With mobile devices growing in number, there are now many choices other than music when we go for a walk, drive, do chores or exercise. The choices can now range from music to video and from podcasts to audiobooks.

When I first signed up to Audible, I was in the habit of going to the library and checking out both print and audio copies of my favorite books. At the time, these were called “Books on tape”. I collected many of these and despite limited selections, enjoyed the stories read by the author, professional narrators or professional actors. During my morning commute, I often listened to novels by Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Anne Rice or James Patterson.

Subscribing to Audible was one of the decisions I have always been happy about. The monthly fee provided me with credits that allowed me to use for purchasing any book in their library. Every purchase is yours for life and today I can listen through my computer, phone or smart TV. In the beginning, their choices were not as extensive as today but even then, I had more than enough to keep me coming back.

Today, Audible is the leader in the audiobook industry with hundreds of thousands of audiobooks to choose from. The cost for a subscription is $14.95 a month for one book or $22.95 a month for two. You can opt to pay a yearly fee which would lower the overall monthly cost. If you decide to buy more books each month, the price for any additional title is 30 percent off. Whichever plan is selected, the cost is far less than buying the audiobooks in a retail store.

There are also special promotions every month and exclusive members-only free audiobooks to choose from. A new feature that has been added is a return policy. If you don’t like a book you buy, you can return it up to a year later and refund your credit.

Today, there are several other audio book providers to choose from. Audible is the largest but not alone. There is Audiobooks.com, Blinkist, Scribd, Apple Books, Google Books, LibriVox and even Walmart, to name a few. Each has their own unique subscription model. You can search online for your preference. As I work on my own books, I hope to someday enter the ranks of authors who produce print, ebook and audiobook titles for the world.

As technology continues to advance, we have many options for sharing every inspiration, dream and passion. Whether we write poetry, publish books or post a blog, there are outlets available to us all. Radio, movies and television are no longer the limits to entertainment. They are the beginning. Where we take our ideas in the coming years is up to us.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page