top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex G. Zarate

My Buys: Adobe Photoshop

Fave Graphic Design Tools


Adobe Photoshop has been around since 1988 and although I did my best to own a copy, as newer versions came out, the program became too expensive for casual users. I resorted to free tools like Gimp and Microsoft Paint. Thankfully, today, Adobe Photoshop has adapted a monthly option so users like myself can continue using the program and its many tools.


The most common feature I use with the program aside from the freehand drawing tools is the layering option, which allows me to place the image on one layer and alternate effects on another, including the book title and text for the front, back and spine. This also allows me to easily adjust the font size, text direction and style without affecting the image below.

Layers are also key for my illustrations using borders and limited size or shape options for each added graphic. Some illustrations are created from scratch, making the freehand option within the program especially useful. My chapter illustrations and imagery can also be used for online ads, trailers and social media.


Whenever I begin a new book, I sketch several ideas to best illustrate each chapter. Sometimes, I find one that is better suited for the cover design. When this happens, I see if I can stretch the image across the front cover, spine and back cover.


There are many tools available for artists and photographers interested in editing their works and creating digital art. Photoshop is one of the most widely known and available graphic programs and I am grateful to the features, tools and affordability of the platform as I continue working on cover designs, graphics and promotions.


The photography plan is $9.99 which includes the common features to Photoshop. Lightroom is included along with 20 gigabytes of cloud storage. The Photoshop professional plan is $20.99 per month and includes Adobe fresco. This plan comes with 100 gigabytes of cloud storage. Both monthly plans include an option for use with the Apple iPad.


Photoshop has proven to be a great asset to my creativity and I look forward to more updates as the platform evolves and adjusts to creatives of all types. May we all find the best tools to learn, grow and share our works as we follow our creative passions and strive to live our dreams.

Turtle, ocean floor, sky, clouds.  Image by thommas68-2571842 - Pixabay
Giant Turtle at Sea

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page