top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex G. Zarate

My Choice To Join The Military

From quiet and withdrawn to a strong and silent type.

I’ve always been quiet by nature. This contributed to my love of reading, pursuit of art and embarking on my writer’s journey. The problem with being an introvert is finding yourself excluded from social interactions as solitude becomes the norm. Because of this, many things that extroverts take for granted become difficult. This includes trying things outside your comfort zone like meeting new people and, of course, public speaking.

The recruiter was talking to a group and handing out pamphlets. I heard a few comments about finding a career and attending college. Although some students appeared to have no interest, I saw a chance at a different future. It took some convincing, but I got my mother to accept my choice to join and by the end of my Junior year, I said goodbye to family and left for basic training.

The first day was memorable. I remember the physical, followed by having shots in both arms. Photos taken in uniform and I remember signing a long line of papers. I also remember taking the oath. By the time the bus arrived to take us to our barracks, everyone was in battle dress uniform and already worn out.

We pulled up to the training barracks only to face a drill sergeant yelling for everyone to get off his bus. As we lined up with duffel bags packed with equipment and clothes, our names were called out. I heard the Drill Sergeant call out many times for a soldier to “Drop and give him twenty” Mostly because they dropped their pack or asked a question. I was determined not to drop my pack or ask anything when my name was called. When the time finally came, he called out Zuh-rate. Out of habit, I said Zarate and tried to walk past him to the barracks. The drill sergeant stopped me and yelled: “That’s what I said! Now drop and give me twenty!” My life as a soldier had begun.

Later on, my platoon was exchanging greetings as we unpacked in the barracks. Someone asked if my name was really zuh-rate. I told him no. It was Zarate. “Zah-Rah-Tee” Another voice called out, “Like Karate!” I smiled. “Yeah. Like that.” “Karate with a Z” someone else called out and that became my standard introduction. I made friends while I served and learned much about military life for many years that followed.

Before my time in the military, I was an introvert who saw only limitations with few words of encouragement. Eight years later I left with an honorable discharge, a determined mindset and a positive attitude. Today, the lessons I learned remain. I face challenges as they come, seek out solutions no matter how difficult the task and continue to seek ways to better myself. I also do my best to help others along the way, sharing encouragement to face doubts and overcome life’s challenges. Sometimes, a few good words can make all the difference.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page